Visa Free Countries for Nigerian Passport Holders 2023

February 28, 2023

The Nigerian passport ranks 191st in the world as of February 2023 according to Visa Guide Passport Index. This means that Nigerian citizens can travel visa-free to 26 countries in the world. However, to enter the remaining countries, Nigerian passport holders must apply for a visa beforehand.

Where Can Nigerian Passport Holders Travel Without a Visa?

As of February 2023, Nigerian passport holders can travel visa free to 26 countries and territories:

  • Barbados
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Cabo Verde
  • Chad
  • Cook Islands
  • Ivory Coast
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • Niger
  • Niue
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Gambia
  • Togo
  • Vanuatu

For visa-free travels, you still must have a valid passport — usually six months after your departure date— and you must purchase travel health insurance as required by your destination country.

What Countries Issue eVisa to Nigerian Citizens?

The following 22 countries issue eVisas for Nigerian passport holders:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Colombia
  • Djibouti
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lesotho
  • Moldova
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Suriname
  • Tajikistan
  • Türkiye
  • Uzbekistan
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

The process of getting an eVisa is more or less the same as applying for a traditional visa. However, in this case, you don’t have to visit a visa application center— you can submit your application online, including the visa payment.

After your application is approved, you will receive an email confirming your visa status along with a document you must print out and bring with you when crossing the border. Your visa will be registered online, but some officers may ask you for a physical copy of the permit; that is why it’s important to keep the copy on your person while traveling.

What Countries Issue Visa on Arrival to Nigerian Passport Holders?

If you are a Nigerian citizen, you can get a visa on arrival for the 20 countries listed below:

  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Comoros
  • Iran
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Palau
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tuvalu

Apply for evisa click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *